The List: Want To Win The Stanley Cup? Get Yourself A Leaf

Carl Gunnarsson Leafs

The Washington Capitals bucked a long-standing Stanley Cup trend last spring. They managed to hoist aloft Lord Stanley’s mug without garnerning a single contribution from a former member of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

The Leafs haven’t won the Stanley Cup since 1966-67, and while Toronto may no longer win the Cup, ex-Leafs most certainly do. Just two teams have managed to win the Cup since the 1967-68 NHL season without the help of a former Leaf.

Carl Gunnarsson’s Game 2 overtime goal not only pulled the St. Louis Blues even with the Boston Bruins two games into the 2018-19 Stanley Cup final, it added another chapter to the lore of ex-Leafs in the Cup final. Gunnarsson played his first 273 NHL games with the Leafs from 2009-14. His St. Louis teammates include former Leafs Tyler Bozak and Alexander Steen.

On the Boston side of the ledger, Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask was a first-round draft pick of the Leafs in 2005. Then Leafs GM John Ferguson took a lot of heat after trading Rask to Boston. But Ferguson is having the last laugh. Today, he’s executive director of player personnel for the Bruins. that deal just might earn Fergie a Stanley Cup inscription.

Ex-Leaf Stanley Cup Champions Since 1968

Team Ex-Leafs
1967-68 Montreal Canadiens Dick Duff
1968-69 Montreal Canadiens Dick Duff, Larry Hillman
1969-70 Boston Bruins Wayne Carleton, Gerry Cheevers
1970-71 Montreal Canadiens Frank Mahovlich
1971-72 Boston Bruins Gerry Cheevers, Mike Walton
1972-73 Montreal Canadiens Frank Mahovlich
1973-74 Philadelphia Flyers Bernie Parent
1974-75 Philadelphia Flyers Bernie Parent
1975-76 Montreal Canadiens Doug Jarvis*
1976-77 Montreal Canadiens Doug Jarvis*
1977-78 Montreal Canadiens Doug Jarvis*
1978-79 Montreal Canadiens Doug Jarvis*
1979-80 New York Islanders Al Arbour**
1980-81 New York Islanders Al Arbour**
1981-82 New York Islanders Al Arbour**
1982-83 New York Islanders Al Arbour**
1983-84 Edmonton Oilers Ed Chadwick***
1984-85 Edmonton Oilers Ed Chadwick***
1985-86 Montreal Canadiens Serge Boisvert, Gaston Gingras
1986-87 Edmonton Oilers Craig Muni
1987-88 Edmonton Oilers Craig Muni
1988-89 Calgary Flames Lanny McDonald
1989-90 Edmonton Oilers Craig Muni
1990-91 Pittsburgh Penguins Rick Kehoe****
1991-92 Pittsburgh Penguins Rick Kehoe****
1992-93 Montreal Canadiens Vincent Damphousse, Paul DiPietro, Gary Leeman, Rob Ramage
1993-94 New York Rangers Glenn Anderson, Ed Olczyk
1994-95 New Jersey Devils Marcel Pronovost**
1995-96 Colorado Avalanche Dave Hannan, Sylvain Lefebvre, Warren Rychel
1996-97 Detroit Red Wings Larry Murphy, Bob Rouse
1997-98 Detroit Red Wings Jamie Macoun, Dmitri Mironov, Larry Murphy, Bob Rouse
1998-99 Dallas Stars Benoit Hogue, Dave Reid
1999-2000 New Jersey Devils Marcel Pronovost**
2000-01 Colorado Avalanche Dave Reid
2001-02 Detroit Red Wings Ken Holland*
2002-03 New Jersey Devils Corey Schwab
2003-04 Tampa Bay Lightning Dave Andreychuk, Fredrik Modin
2005-06 Carolina Hurricanes Kevyn Adams, Glen Wesley
2006-07 Anaheim Ducks Ric Jackman
2007-08 Detroit Red Wings Ken Holland*
2008-09 Pittsburgh Penguins Hal Gill
2009-10 Chicago Blackhawks Joel Quenneville**
2010-11 Boston Bruins Tomas Kaberle
2011-12 Los Angeles Kings None
2012-13 Chicago Blackhawks Joel Quenneville**
2013-14 Los Angeles Kings Alyn McAuley***
2014-15 Chicago Blackhawks Kris Versteeg, Joel Quenneville**
2015-16 Pittsburgh Penguins Phil Kessel
2016-17 Pittsburgh Penguins Phil Kessel
2017-18 Washington Capitals None
2018-19 St. Louis Blues Tyler Bozak, Carl Gunnarsson, Alex Steen

*Draft Pick
****Assistant Coach

Leave a Reply